01
Jun
09

Left 4 Dead 2: E3 Impressions

l4d2

http://betav2.gamersyde.com/stream_11137_en.html

That’s a stream of the new trailer that was shown a few minutes ago at Microsoft’s E3 press conference for the second Left 4 Dead.  While it looks amazing I’m not sure we needed another so soon especially when people are still complaining about the lacking maps in normal L4D. I can say that I’m really looking forward to melee weapons, something the old group should have been able to do anyway and also playing as what appears to be a southern gentleman sipping taken from sipping mint julips on his lawn to fighting zombones with a frying pan.  That is my new favorite character, sorry Louis. (GRABBIN SOME PEEEUUUULLZZZ)

It’s odd because the trailer immediately made me think of Hurricane Katrina but instead of a hurricane its zombies.  Would Bush still not care? I’m not sure we’d probably have to ask Kanye. Theres a couple gameplay videos already up on IGN, so I’ll post a couple here and give my thoughts.

http://pc.ign.com/dor/objects/14352245/left-4-dead-2/videos/l4d2_gmp_alarm_052809.html

First off the new music is amazing. You know when some sweet new orleans jazz starts up zombies are gonna be rushing you which is basically the best musical cue possible. If theres two things that needed to meet it was jazz and zombones. Also it appears the melee weapons just last forever which is nice especially compared to my dealings with Dead Risings weapons. I do like that they changed the guns and theres a lot of new zombie models the most confusing of which is that weird one with the hump who apparently are in hazmat suits so are immune to fire. 

Word on the street is “The survivors include Coach, a high-school football coach, Rochelle, a reporter for a local cable company, Ellis, a boy mechanic, and Nick, a gambler and conman.” Alright so Nick is easily my favorite with Coach a second runner especially with lines like “They better name a school after me for this shit.” I’m not too interested in Ellis who’ll probably end up being the new Super Bill. Super Bill is when you have only 3 people and you’re left with an npc controlled Bill who wanders the streets shouting for help and basically falling off stuff and dying. That’s why he’s so super.

The new infected in that trailer up there is a “Charger, a being that is able to temporarily stun the survivors by body-charging them.” Now I’m not sure how much this is going to affect gameplay with most of the infected already being able to “stun” people anyway but if my other gaming experiences are any indication, stuns suck.  Theres nothing worse than standing there with no control while you’re pummeled to death by an oncoming horde.  I’m not sure if this is going to add anymore depth to the game than say a hunter pouncing one of your guys but hey at least they’re trying. Playing as a charger could be neat especially if they have enough hit points to actually survive ramming into the group, but they will probably be like the boomer and use their stun then die and hopefully set up some damage for their infected teammates.

http://pc.ign.com/dor/objects/14352245/left-4-dead-2/videos/l4d2_gmp_fireammo_052809.html

The final thing I’ll mention is the new “Incendiary Ammo” which is a dream come true for someone like me whos terrible with molotovs. Finally I can burn zombones like everyone else without having accidentally tossed a molly on top of my team.  Hey I’m willing to admit when I’m not good at something and molotov throwing is not my thing. The fire ammo looks like a neat addition but really shooting the zombones would work just as well so I’m not sure it’ll do anything cept look awesome. 

I really hope this game is worth another 40 dollars as I loved the first one but I’m not even sure it was worth that much, I got it for 25.  Maybe if L4D 2 was 25 to begin with I’d be more optimistic but as it stands only time will tell if it’ll be worth dropping the change for when the first one is still going strong.

“The survivors include Coach, a high-school football coach, Rochelle, a reporter for a local cable company, Ellis, a boy mechanic, and Nick, a gambler and conman.” Alright so Nick is easily my favorite with Coach a second runner especially with lines like “They better name a school after me for this shit.” I’m not too interested in Ellis who’ll probably end up being the new Super Bill. Super Bill is when you have only 3 people and you’re left with an npc controlled Bill who wanders the streets shouting for help and basically falling off stuff and dying. That’s why he’s so super.
The new infected in that trailer up there is a “Charger, a being that is able to temporarily stun the survivors by body-charging them.” Now I’m not sure how much this is going to affect gameplay with most of the infected already being able to “stun” people anyway but if my other gaming experiences are any indication, stuns suck.  Theres nothing worse than standing there with no control while you’re pummeled to death by an oncoming horde.  I’m not sure if this is going to add anymore depth to the game than say a hunter pouncing one of your guys but hey at least they’re trying. Playing as a charger could be neat especially if they have enough hit points to actually survive ramming into the group, but they will probably be like the boomer and use their stun then die and hopefully set up some damage for their infected teammates.


0 Responses to “Left 4 Dead 2: E3 Impressions”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

